Founded in 1987 in San Diego, CA, by emeriti editors Rick Edgil and Phil Mast, Endless Summer Quarterly, INC. [ESQ], is The Beach Boys/Brian Wilson publication of record. In 1993, editor emeritus Lee Dempsey purchased the publication's business license, and along with the editor David Beard, continued publishing ESQ in Charlotte, NC. Issue #24 was the first edition published in Charlotte. (*Note: Issues of ESQ published prior to the Summer 1993 edition are not available on this site.) Since 1999, David has been overseeing the creative development of ESQ's design presentation, historical coverage, and in-depth reporting while Lee maintains the business aspects of the publication. Today, with the team members shown below, ESQ continues to provide one-of-a-kind access and coverage of the most fascinating musical act of all time. Each 48-page quarterly publication of ESQ offers fans of The Beach Boys exclusive interviews, previously unpublished and rare images (some from private collections), video, CD and DVD reviews, exclusive CDs, and giveaways available only to subscribers of the magazine.

Years of historic coverage


Editions published


Interviews conducted


Articles Written

Endless Summer Quarterly magazine has conducted exclusive interviews with:

Brian Wilson, Mike Love, Al Jardine, Carl Wilson, Bruce Johnston, David Marks and Blondie Chaplin

PLUS: Jan Berry, Dean Torrence, Hal Blaine, Glen Campbell, Don Randi, Carol Kaye, Daryl Dragon, Doug Dragon, Ed Carter, Mike Kowalski, Jerry Schilling, Jim Guercio, Gerry Beckley, Robert Lamm, Peter Cetera, Walt Parazaider, David Leaf, Andy Paley, Don Was, Carnie Wilson, Wendy Wilson, Marilyn Wilson-Rutherford, Barbara Wilson, Carl B. Wilson, Justyn Wilson, Jonah Wilson, Billy Hinsche, Annie Wilson-Karges, Melinda Wilson, Matt Jardine, Adam Jardine, Virginia Jardine, Ambha Love, Christian Love, Joe Thomas, Fred Vail, Ed Roach, Rick Henn (Sunrays), Richie Cannata, Earle Mankey, Stephen J. Kalinich, Gregg Jakobson, Bobby Figueroa, Geoffrey Cushing-Murray, Ron Altbach, Sterling Smith, Carli Muñoz, Jeffrey Foskett, Gary Griffin, John Stamos, Darian Sahanaja, Nick Walusko, Probyn Gregory, Steve Binder (T.A.M.I. Show director), Rusty Ford, Kenny Aronoff, Ron Swallow, Chip Rachlin, Rodney Bingenheimer, Mark London, Jon Parks, Paul Von Mertens, Nelson Bragg, Scott Bennett, John Cowsill, Arny Geller, Richard "Dickie" Maier, Al Perkins, Steve Levine, Spencer Proffer, Rand Bishop, Don Reedman, Nick Patrick, Malcolm Leo, Alan Boyd, Mark Linett, Howie Edelson, and many others.

2021 mug

David Beard

Designer, author, editor, historian, producer and broadcaster

Lee Dempsey

Editor emeritus, financial and business manager and historian

Joe Natale

Assistant editor

Ron Kohl

Assistant editor

Keith Devoe

Assistant editor

Craig Slowinski


Malcolm Searles

Author and historian

Daniel Coston


Jeff McEvoy


Dave "Ghosty" Wills

Radio show host, voice actor, writer and historian
Alan Smith

Alan Smith

Writer and historian

Andrew Doe

Author and historian

Brian Berry

Photographer and historian

Ian Rusten

Author and historian

Peter Reum

Author and historian
Les Chan

Les Chan

In memoriam